Thanking God for tuna noodle casserole

As I’m typing this, I just finished my first real meal in a week! As you probably already guessed from the title, it was tuna noodle casserole!

This last week I have been pretty sick with OHSS, not anywhere near severe, and I am NOT complaining because if this is what it takes for us to have a baby, it’s all worth it, but it was NOT easy! The first day after egg retrieval I was fine, just uncomfortable and bloated. By day two, nausea set in full force, I have never experienced constant, steady nausea before in my life like this. I couldn’t even stand the touch of my husband rubbing my back- it made me sooo sick! I did my best to drink as much Gatorade as I could, but at best I could only gag down about a bottle throughout the day and even small meals were out of the question. I think about 3 saltine crackers was all I had to last me for 3 days. I hope this isn’t TMI but I also had the runs but managed to gain about 6-7 pounds, I know there are so many others who have had it so much worse, and my sympathy for them is at an all time high right now! My silver lining through all of the nausea was thinking of tuna noodle casserole. I have no idea why it sounded so good, honestly I typically don’t love the stuff, but I just couldn’t get it out of my mind! That and watermelon were the only two things I could think about while I was sick. I told myself if I ever get better, my first meal will be tuna casserole. I got on pinterest and looked at all the tuns casserole recipes (every other food pin made me nauseous even just looking) Thank you Jesus for tuna noodle casserole!

When Alex got home from work, he made me the dish, and served it with a side of watermelon and it was everything I imagined it to be! My first real meal was so satisfyingly scrumptious (I never thought I would use those words to describe tuna casserole!!) and I am so thankful to be feeling closer to normal again (although, normally, I’d like to think I have a pretty sophisticated palette- I love fancy and complicated dishes, so maybe I’m not as close to normal as I thought!) 

Today I also called the Fertility Clinic to find out the status of our embybabies (is that the right term?) I had put it off all week for a couple of reasons 1. Alex didn’t get home till after the clinic was closed each day and if we had bad news, (or good news) I wanted us to go through it together and 2. I didn’t even have the energy to call. My days consisted of napping and going to the restroom. That’s it. If I was really adventurous, I would lay on the couch instead of in bed, but sleeping was the only time I felt relief from the nausea so I slept as much as I could- almost all day .But now that we finally do have the results, I wanted to share them here! Out of 35 eggs, we had 22 fertilize and 20 are frozen! From all that I have read, our Hospital freezes only those that make it to day 5, unless there are not many eggs and they need to freeze them at day 3. Our Doctor said we have more than enough to get pregnant with! I am kind of in shock- we have 20 babies! They aren’t allowed to let me know the grade or quality over the phone or email for privacy reasons, so I won’t know that until my next appointment on the 2nd or 3rd day of my period. I am excited, but also very nervous about this. I don’t think its possible for me to give birth to 20 children, and I feel strongly they all need to be given a chance at life. Part of me really loves the idea of sharing our embryos with a loving couple or family; what an incredible gift to be able to give- especially those that have been unsuccessful on their own,  but another part of me just can’t wrap my head around giving them up for adoption- our babies that we’ve longed for, hoped for, prayed for and fought for. I think I am getting ahead of myself, worrying, instead of thanking God for this miracle of life he has so abundantly given to us! I am so, so thankful, but also can’t deny I am nervous. 

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light”- Matthew 11:28-30

17 thoughts on “Thanking God for tuna noodle casserole

  1. This is great news…and I am so happy you are feeling better! This will all work out though, those babies are so very blessed regardless of the decisions you make. I am so excited for you both!! Congrats!!!

  2. oh girl as you talked about your OHSS it took me back to my days of OHSS! I’m so glad you are feeling better. 🙂 I’m so excited you had so many eggs but you are right, that is a lot :/ I remember that was one of the number one reservations I had about doing IVF. I didn’t want too many eggs to be fertilized and then if I had a bunch to “use” would I secretly, deep down hope they all wouldn’t “implant” if I tried to implant them throughout the years? I prayed and prayed I wouldn’t have any left over to freeze and I didn’t. I say don’t worry about it and cross that bridge when you get there. 🙂 You should also share your recipe 😉 It sounds delish!!!

  3. 20 frozen?! That’s amazing. You poor thing though, that sounds like a nightmare. Isn’t it funny the things that actually sound yummy though. I’m so glad your hubby made you that nice casserole. Good luck to you and I can’t wait to hear the next update.

    • Yes! I am still in a little bit of shock, but most of it has worn off and now I’m just excited/thankful! I still don’t know anything about the quality or grades, and most likely wont until my next appointment (day 3 of my cycle but I have no idea when my cycle will start?) I’ll make sure to keep you updated! I’m anxious to hear about your precious 7 too!!

  4. Whew, so so sorry you haven’t been feeling well!!! 20!!! That is awesome!!! I know that the Lord will grant you peace and excited to hear about the fertilization report on your next visit! Love you friend

    • LOL Amber, I guess I’ll have to wait and see how this all turns out! I’m blissfully happy we have 20, my husband get this overwhelmed look on his face because he has always known I could be the Old Woman that lived in the Shoe who had too many children and didn’t know what to do! 😉

  5. Praise God for your little embryos! And I’m so sorry about your OHSS… I remember mine like it was yesterday, but of course, I would happily go through it again without thinking twice. Praying for you and your body and your frozen embryos!!!

    • Logan, I remember yours like it was yesterday! I couldn’t believe what you went through! I just kept praying, please, please please do not let this get so bad that I need to go to the Hospital. I don’t know how you were able to muster the energy to even get into a car! It scared me to death thinking about going to the Hospital in korea, where the language barrier would be crazy to try and explain. Thankful it never got to that point. I have so much more empathy for you than I ever thought possible! But- you have precious Bonnie and that is behind you thankfully!!!

    • Thank you! I can say now that it was worth it- but the days I was going through it I would have had a different answer! LOL Thank you for your sweet prayers for our little babies! I am so thankful for them!! 🙂 And for you sweet friend! I am so excited to hear more updates from you!!

Leave a Reply

