Egg Retrieval Story

I first just have to say thank you to everyone for your sweet comments, advice, prayers and stories about your own experiences because they truly did calm my nerves and made the last couple of days better!

I have an egg retrieval story…

Egg retrieval was set for 2/14/2014 at 8:20 so Alex and I drove his stick shift car to the clinic. ย I was already feeling bigger and more uncomfortable than my last experience, and driving in Seoul is crazy and full of pot holes and speed bumps, and I was very nervous about not having any eggs and the retrieval being painful so every bump and pot hole I felt like my ovaries were going to burst, I felt so strange demanding my husband needs to drive more smooth and careful because of my huge ovaries!

We arrived early and I changed into the robe (this time I kept my socks on) and waited to get my IV put in. I had already made up my mind that I was going to ask them to try putting the IV in my arm instead of my hand, as last time they tried, unsuccessfully 5 times before they eventually put it in my arm, thankfully it worked the first time! After a couple of shots in the bum (I’m not exactly sure what it was for?) I was led into the Retrieval Room. I noticed 2 needles of medicine were put into the IV, my guess is one was for pain and one was for anti-anxiety, but they weren’t strong enough because I was as tense as a board and felt every move the Dr made! The Dr. did do a local anesthetic, and I had the sweet nurse by my side holding my hand the whole time, which was very nice. I went into this anticipating it was going to be as painful as some of my worst period cramps (I have fainted and vomited from the pain of menstrual cramps in the past, so I have intense pain when I get my period, some months worse than others, but its the worst pain I have to compare). On a scale from 1-10, I would give my worst cramps a 8-9, the womb scraping I would give a 7 and the egg retrieval I would give a 6. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t easy at all. Since I was completely awake, I got to watch the screen, and hear the suctioning of the eggs. It was pretty incredible, but again, I was in pain so I couldn’t enjoy it too much. One thing I was thankful for was a picture of the sweetest baby on the ceiling, reminding me of the whole reason we’re doing this, and when the nurse said about 5 minutes in, “We have seven eggs” I was so happy and let out a sigh of relief! We wont be repeating history!

All in all the retrieval took about 25-30 minutes and when we were through, the doctor told me we had a total ofย 35 eggs retrieved!! I couldn’t believe my ears, and I felt so much better afterwards than last time. I walked to the recovery bed and was ready to go home and get in comfies already! So now I’m home, drinking lots of gatorade with my feet up. I am so thankful. Thank you all so much for your thoughts and prayers!

25 thoughts on “Egg Retrieval Story

  1. oh that’s exciting! What if you have lots of them fertilized?!? You are going to need to buy a greyhound bus eventually! hahaha!

    I know exactly what you mean about the pot holes! I had a three hour drive to my doctors office and a three hour ride back. Sleeping for the next couple of days was brutal too! Make sure you drink LOTS of gatorade (NO WATER, it makes it worse) and V8 juice. Also, stick to Chicken noodle soup for a few days. The sodium will be good from the soup. Also, solid foods always seemed to have gotten stuck somewhere between my throat and stomach since the fluid from my ovaries had pushed all my other organs upward into my chest. lol! Praying for you girl!! xoxoxox

    • Haha! When I told Alex the number of eggs he looked happy, but also shocked and said, “well, maybe we will get that big family we’ve always wanted now” We will see! I’m trying not to jump to any conclusions because we won’t get our fertilization report until Tuesday, I’m just hoping and praying! I am taking ALL of your advice, OHSS sounds so scary. Thank you so much for your advice and prayers!!

      • OHSS made me say out loud “I WILL NEVER DO THIS AGAIN!” so it was pretty bad at the time. hahaha! I walked around hunched over and the thought of pooping made me sick to my stomach ๐Ÿ˜‰ TMI? lol

      • LOL You poor thing! Not TMI, I need all the info I can get! How many days after your retrieval did you start to feel really bad? I’m bloated a little and uncomfortable and sore, but its not excruciating.(yet)

      • I had ER on Thursday and by Saturday night I was a bit more miserable…and Sunday I was almost to 9 lbs of fluid and non mobile ๐Ÿ™‚ But I did go to a mother’s day banquet on Saturday so I was moving around a lot and drinking the right fluids. So as long as you stay laying down and drinking the sodium fluids, you will be just fine. I was not thinking about how bad OHSS and did not obey orders until I was miserable…that’s typically how I am…i seem to wait until it critical before I say, “Oh! I should have listened!” bahahaha

      • I’m tempted to move around and eat all sorts of delicious foods, but I’m going to restrict myself! Do you think that you had it so severely because you were active, or do you think you would have had it that severely regardless? I just feel so horrible that you had to endure all of that!

  2. Praise the Lord! I am so happy for you, and will be praying for your embryos and for your body. You are wise to take it as easy as possible for a while… just to be on the safe side!

Leave a Reply

