Not the news I was expecting

Today I had my appointment, and I should not be surprised by now at the news I’m given when I go to my appointments, but today, yet again, I was thrown for a loop.
Last appointment, I went to a doctor who was filling in for my regular doctor for the day and he told me I had 4-5 good looking follicles on each ovary and they looked very, very good. So I went into this appointment anticipating my regular Doctor to be pleased that we had the exact number of follicles we had been aiming for from the start. It didn’t go that way. My ultrasound revealed approximately 30 follicles just like my first round of IVF. She said this was not good news, that retrieval is Saturday and since they don’t have the anesthesiologist working on the weekends, that I have to go through this egg collection awake and it will be very painful. If we actually do end up with mature eggs (unlike last time) we will have to freeze them all and plan on a transfer in March. I’m not at all upset about having to wait another month, that is nothing in the grand scheme of things! What I am worried about is the pain and that this will again result in empty follicles. I cried when I got home because I was just in shock after being told just 3 days ago I had 8-10 eggs, now I’m told I have the same amount, if not more than last time.
Trigger shot is tonight, and I’m just praying that this experience will not be as painful as they’re telling me, and that we end up with some good eggs!

9 thoughts on “Not the news I was expecting

  1. I guess I don’t really have a good understanding of IVF procedures, but it seems very weird that they would do this without an anesthesiologist. I’m so sorry, Amy. I’ll be praying that it is not painful and that you have a successful procedure.

  2. I’m so sorry. I hate surprises at RE appointments because I have never had a good surprise. They never say – “Surprise! We can stop now! You’re pregnant!”

    I can’t understand how they missed all those follicles at the last scan. I also think it’s crazy that you should have to go without an anesthesiologist because they don’t have one that works weekends! IVF is completely based on every individual woman’s response to the meds and timing is so critical…their schedule should accommodate you, not the other way around. I am frustrated for you. I am hopeful that you will have many mature eggs to freeze and that your ER will be surprisingly peaceful! I will be thinking of you!

  3. oh my goodness! 30 eggs?!? That’s going to take a good bit of time for them to collect them too. What if you flinch? What happens then? I am praying against all of these things! I am so sorry honey!! I almost would just trigger (to release them) and try again next time…I don’t do well with pain. yikes!!

  4. Sorry to hear your news. My clinic doesn’t use an anesthesiologist. They just give you a little something through an IV to relax you and warn you it’s going to be painful. I think I was so focused on it being painful and my brain was set on it being excruciating that it felt like nothing. I actually enjoyed being able to watch the procedure and watch them collect the eggs. I had a lot of follicles as well. I found the pain afterwards from the OHSS painful…so make sure they send you home with a good prescription for pain medication!

  5. Will be praying for you Saturday. May God prevent you from even feeling the pain. May it be a peaceful experience. And may they find good eggs for IVF. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

