It’s not about me

Lately, I have been struggling with feeling inadequate. I never imagined I would be a failure at IVF, unable to produce a single egg to even try with. I trusted and had faith in God, but I didn’t even think it possible that I would respond poorly to medication since all reports said otherwise. Oh, how I was wrong. But this is where God steps in and says “now I’ve got your attention. Now I can take you to where I want you to be. God is interested in getting us to the point where we are willing and able to fully trust in Him. God has a plan. He’s working it out, and it’s not about me. “Consider it pure joy when we face trials of many kinds, because the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:2-4

I was greatly encouraged by this talk by Priscilla Shirer. I loved it so much that I have listened to it twice now and it inspired this post. If you have an extra 20 minutes to listen, I would highly recommend it!

http://media.focusonthefamily.com/fotf/mp3/fof_daily_broadcast/ffd_2014/1_jan_feb_march/ffd_20140110.mp3

It’s not about me. It’s about what God is doing through me for other people, according to His plans. Our trials are not about us except that God is building in us character to help someone else. He has a bigger plan.

God took the time to fashion us- inside and out. He knows us, and he cared enough to create us in His image. When we look to others, and what they have, questioning why God didn’t give us the life or position we thought we would have by now. God does not make mistakes. He placed us in the positions we are in for a purpose. We are fearfully and wonderfully made. God would not create us in a way that was contrary to what His word says. (Jeremiah 1:4-5)

Ruth in the Bible pressed forward and didn’t turn back in the midst of tragedy and trials, she said “Lord I’m going to let you use this to make me better” Ruth worked for the Lord in a strange and foreign country. God wasn’t interested in Ruth and what she wanted. She was hurt when her husband died, but she knew God had a bigger plan, and that bigger plan was manifested. Ruth was King David’s great grandmother, which gave her a place in Jesus Christ’s lineage.  When we face trials of many kinds, we must hold our heads high, knowing He’s got a bigger plan.

I think of Isaac and Rebekah. Isaac was the promised child through whom the Lord was going to make into a great nation. The Lord orchestrated his marriage to Rebekah. The Lord formed Rebekah and knew she would be barren. Genesis 25:21 says “Isaac prayed to the Lord on behalf of his wife, because she was barren. The Lord answered his prayer, and his wife Rebekah became pregnant.” I find it incredible that the Lord planned everything, and it was in His plans that Isaac had to pray for his wife and answer his prayers before she was able to conceive so that what the Lord had promised Abraham could take place.

 Every trial, circumstance we are facing now, God equipped us to handle before we were even born. Before we were born, God knew we would be facing the trial of infertility, miscarriage, secondary infertility, and so many other pains. What He wants from us is that in the midst of trials, we can hold our heads high. Instead of praying to be delivered from our trials, we need to be praying for help in the midst of the trial with the knowledge that God has a bigger plan. Its how we respond in the midst of these trials that counts. 

15 thoughts on “It’s not about me

  1. Amen girlie!!
    “They will fight against you, but they shall not prevail against you. For I am with you,” says the LORD, “to deliver you.” (Jer 1:19)

    We will face many trials (infertility being one of them), but the great news is that if we continue to trust in Him and let Him work out His plans, they WILL NOT prevail against us. It’s such a wonderful promise to know that what we are facing today, tomorrow, and even next year will not consume us, overtake us, triumph over us, or make us victims. Instead, because He is with us, He will deliver us. One day we both will look back, not as victims of infertility, but victors because we will be delivered by the Lord Himself. 🙂

    God is doing awesome things in your life right now. He is training you, teaching you, and molding you. I know this because I see it in myself and I see the same thing in you. Try to not despise this time…it will pass and in the end your faith will be so much stronger. HUGS!
    waitingforbabybird.com

  2. Amen! I was just listening to Priscilla yesterday too!! Isn’t her stuff so great?! I love that God uses us as His vessels to glorify HIM!!! It’s sad to see how many people gain pride in that and think it’s all about THEM!!! Thanks for sharing. I know so many people will be encouraged and touched by this! Love you girl!

  3. Amen!!!

    “Be strong and courageous. Never be afraid or discouraged because I am your God, the Eternal One, and I will remain with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1:9

    You may never have imagined that you would be going through infertility. In another country. And no one could have imagined that your egg retrieval would have resulted in zero eggs… But those circumstances are great places for God to begin working miracles, and for Him to touch others through you. No earthly trial will ever consume you, because you belong to Him.

    And you are SO RIGHT… it’s never about us anyway!

    Prayers going your way!

  4. Love me some Priscilla! She came to our women’s conference this past October and whoa, girl can preach! I am about to listen! What a great reminder… It’s not about me! :)))))

    • There is this quote, it’s one of my favorites that reminds me of you, Jessah. It says “The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen” -Elizabeth Kubler Ross. I hate that we have to experience pain, but like you said, it is not in vain! 🙂 Sending so much love to you!

Leave a Reply

