Reading List and a Recipe

books

The last 2 months during the week, my husband has been away at training and then on weekends he is home. Luckily, when the weather has been bad, he has been able to come home for the night, which I love, but it also prolongs the length of his training. What started out as a 6 week trainig, has turned into almost 8 weeks. Since I’m home most of the day, everyday and without a car until our request for a second one is processed, I have had ample time to read (and watch old movies and Hallmark Christmas movies, which I love!) I am an avid reader and at all times have about 5 or 6 books I’m reading. I thought I would share with you just a few I’ve enjoyed!

A Graceful Waiting by Jan Frank- I loved the title of this book! I so want to be graceful while waiting through this trial, but it is so difficult! This is not a book about infertility, but there is much waiting while going through infertility that it is very relevant if you’re looking for a book full of wisdom about the topic of waiting. The author uses entries from her journal when she was facing a period of waiting in her life and I really think God showed her how her time of waiting was a gift and as a result she is full of insight because of the waiting period she went through. I  think of Joseph, the years of imprisonment and waiting he went through, and he used his waiting time wisely and was richly rewarded for it.

Christy by Catherine Marshall- My Mom went to a garage sale a couple months back and sent  to me the book Christy, along with the DVD set of the 90’s Christy tv series. I had actually never read the book, but had read her other less know novel Julie and fell in love with it! Christy is a great work of Christian fiction. Its about a wealthy 19 year old girl who answers a missionary’s call to teach children in the mountains of Cutter Gap in Tennesse. The novel is based on a real story about the author’s mother and her time as a missionary teaching in a one room school house. There are so many wonderful lessons in this book and a little bit of romance as well. I love this book and know I will read it over and over for years to come!

Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline- I am fascinated by anothing that deals with the subject of orphans and foster care. This books weaves both together as an unlikely pair of orphans meet. One is 91 who was an immigrant from Ireland and only 8 years old when her family dies in an apartment fire and was sent on an orphan train to the midwest. The other is a current day 17 year old Indian currently in foster care. Her Father is dead and he mother is in jail. I have not finished reading this book, but so far it is intriguing. Its not a very long book, so I’m sure I will finish it in no time!

The Aviators Wife by Melanie Benjamin- I first saw this book at Barnes and Noble and really wanted to purchase it, but decided against it since it was kind of pricey and I decided to wait a few months till it was older and I could snag a used copy off amazon. Meanwhile, my blogging friend Logan over at http://withgreatexpectation.com had a review and I knew I needed to read it! I have alway been fascinated and intrigued at the lives of the Lindbergh family, particularly Anne, who had such a quiet strength and dignity. I loved her book “Gift From the Sea.” This was a fictional story, but I was mesmerized from page one. It is all from Anne’s point of view, which is what most intrigued me. She lived such a lonely, dramatic, adventurous life. This book does not have a happy ending, as her life was very messy and I don’t want to give away too much detail. I had a very heavy heart after reading this book, but it was a good read and I couldn’t put it down!

Now for a recipe! Last week a few of the wives and I took a trip to Seoul for lunch and shopping. We decided on Indian food at a quaint fancy little large restaurant downtown. I had only had Indian food a couple of times and wasn’t a huge fan of curry, but I went and tried their Chicken Tikka Masala.It was insanely good! I couldn’t stop thinking about it all week and decided I needed to find an authentic recipe so I could replicate it at home! It was all I ever wanted to eat for the rest of my life! I love to cook, but when Alex is gone during the week I usually keep the menu very simple (like nutella and pretzels and a sweet potato for dinner simple) I get so much joy cooking elaborate dinners for others, especially my husband since he loves my cooking, but I just don’t have the motivation to cook for just me. Until, that is, I had to have chicken tikka marsala! I have made this recipe twice in the last week. It will make your toes curl it is that good! So without further ado, here is the recipe! Since I am in Korea, I ommitted the hard to find ingredients and this is the end result!

Chicken Tikka Marsala:

For the marinade: 1 lb Chicken, cut into cubes 1 cup Yogurt 1 tbsp Cumin powder 1/2 tbsp Coriander powder 1/4 tsp Turmeric powder 3 cloves Garlic, 1/2 tsp. powdered ginger 1 tsp Salt 1/2 tsp Chilli powder

For the sauce: 1 medium sized Onion, cubed 1/2 roasted Red Bell Pepper (about 1/2 cup when pureed)  1 tsp Cumin powder 1/2 tsp Coriander powder 3 Cloves, 1/2 inch Cinnamon, 2 Cardamom pods–ground into fine powder  1/4 cup Cream 2 tbsp Tomato ketchup 1 tbsp Butter 1 tbsp Oil 1/4 tsp of Chilli powder, or to taste Salt to taste.

How to make it:

  • Marinade the chicken with all the ingredients for marination for about 20-30 minutes
  • Grill or pan roast the marinated chicken and set aside
  •  roast the onions and red pepper in the oven with a few drops of oil unil lighlty browned.
  • Blend the mixture into a fine puree. Add a few tablespoons of water if necessary.
  • Heat a pan (you can use the same pan used for roasting) with a tablespoon of oil and a table spoon of butter.
  • When the butter just melts, add all the powders (clove, cinnamon, cardamom powder, cumin and coriander) and saute until their aroma wafts around.
  • Add the red bell pepper, onion puree and gently saute for 3-4 minutes.
  • Add the chilli powder and salt and the tomato ketchup. Mix well and add the cream.
  • Now add the grilled chicken pieces and toss to coat well in the sauce.
  • Check taste and adjust salt or chilli powder as desired.
  • If you want a thinner consistency add a few more tablespoons of water and a sparing splash of cream. Gently simmer for 5 minutes.
  • Garnish with cilantro and serve with Naans (Indian bread) or Basmati rice.

recipe adapted from www. can’t-live-without.com

 

 

6 thoughts on “Reading List and a Recipe

  1. I am totally going to have to try this!! Also, have you ever read the book Pregnant with Hope? That’s a good one. I also have a devotional called “A Seed of Hope”. I highly recommend that one too along with Jesus Calling. 🙂

    • Hi Elisha! No, I haven’t read either of those! I keep hearing about both and they’re on my list! If you recommend them, I will push them to the top! I always love book recommendations of all kinds! 🙂 Yes, try the recipe and let me know what you think! I thought it would be a little more complicated, but its simple and delicious 🙂

  2. So love that you have sweet time to read!! I wish I could more. This recipe made me giggle only because the first meal I ever made for Colby had yogurt in it, and cilantro (the sauce) and at the time I didn’t know he wasn’t a fan of either 😉 I’ve actually been buying that organic sauce because Colby was wanting indian, but maybe I will try this! Now that we are married I’m not so worried if he likes it or not, ha!

    • Yes, it’s been an adjustment having so much free time! I’m trying to enjoy it:-) That’s too funny that you made Colby food with the two ingredients he didn’t care for! My mom said that the first meal she ever made my dad she was trying to impress him and make him all his favorite foods so she asked him what vegetables he liked. She thought he said he likes every vegetable except peas, carrots and corn so she made every vegetable except those three but what he had said was the only vegetable he likes are peas, corn and carrots!(so picky!) Hopefully Colby will like this recipe!:-) Make sure to let me know how it turns out for you!;-)

Leave a Reply

