Divine Love and Life

“Remember this: had any other condition been better for you than the one in which you are, divine love would have put you there.” Charles Spurgeon

When I reflect on the absolute truth of this statement, my mind becomes so overwhelmed by the goodness and sovreignty of God that it is just unfathomable to me. God is love. This is true not only when things go my way, as they did last week for our first IVF appointment, but this will still be true if things do not go the way we are hoping and if IVF does not work this time. Regardless of the outcome, I am praying that I will be able to thank and praise God because He is so good and so worthy no matter my circumstances. It is easy right now to think of, but I know that it is much harder to follow through when things do not go my way.

I’m changing subjects now to put in writing the thoughts and moral delimas Alex and I faced when we decided to pursue IVF together. I know it is not for everyone, and I have read articles that compare the way that embryos are treated to abortion, which scared me initially. But after praying, many discussions and reading, we both came to the ultimate decision that to be able to pursue this option is a gift. We have prayed for a child, and we believe this is just one of the many ways God could choose to bless us with children. We ultimately trust that God opens and closes the womb. Yes, the doctor (with the limited amount of knowledge they have) can put a sperm and egg together, but God created the sperm and egg and He is the author of life.

“Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you, before you were born I set you apart” Jeremiah 1:5

I think that with the decision to pursue IVF comes with a lot of responsibility to be obedient to the Lord. We believe that all life is precious and a gift from God. If we felt God would not be honored and we lacked peace about IVF, it would be disobedient to pursue it. I believe that every couple’s decision will be different and as long as we are obedient to God and trust in the Lord with all of our heart, that is what ultimately matters. We are praying that every step of this process we will be able to honor the Lord and are continuously thankful for the life he has given us!

7 thoughts on “Divine Love and Life

  1. Great post! We aren’t up to IVF yet, but I have pondered some of this and I agree – God will lead. Love the Spurgeon quote. I saw it recently on another blog, and it definitely helped after my miscarriage. So important to trust that. Hugs, girl. Praying all goes will for you guys on this journey!

  2. This post is so perfectly worded… When we seek God in all things He truly does grant us peace, and I’m so glad he’s given you that peace regarding IVF. Thank you so much for sharing your story. I’m full of hope for your little family, and praying often!!!

Leave a Reply

