God gives good gifts!

homecoming
“Which of you Fathers, if your son asks for a fish, will give him a snake instead? Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

When I look back at the many things I have requested of the Lord to bless me with, the more this verse rings true and true! I have asked the Lord for children, and I trust that He knows better than anyone how to give good gifts! The first prayer I remember being answered was my little sister. Every night I would pray to Jesus to please give me little twin sisters, and though he didn’t add to our family twins, after 7 years, he answered my prayer for a sister. She is better than I could have ever hoped for and our sisterhood is something I treasure.
I also think of my husband. We met when we were 14 and freshman in high school, and he later told me he knew he wanted to marry me right away and prayed that God would bring us together someday. We became friends and even went on our first date to Homecoming that year together (I made it clear I just wanted to be friends, see picture above!) and he continued to be there, always the upstanding guy he is. Our Senior year we began dating and dated 6 years through college before getting married. But God answered both our prayers better than I could have ever hoped for. I dreamed and prayed for a husband of character and a special kind of love, and all the while he was right there in front of me and our love gets stronger everyday! God sure knows how to give good gifts!

An eternity while back my husband and I began to pray together for children. We dream together of a life and house filled with children together, but Alex always makes sure to let me know that he would be completely content and happy if it was just us two (he has learned the secret to contentment while the thought of never having children literally hurts me) but when we first began to pray, he told me he that he had told God when he was 14 that if he could marry me, he would never ask for anything else! I joke (but really half seriously) that God loves to answer his prayers, it just takes years for them to come to fruition!

Recently I had began to talk about what our next steps should be, because we have been trying to conceive for 18 cycles now( charting, opk, etc) and I have really begun to become discouraged that we will need extra help. I have a timeline of how things should progress in my own mind that was really becoming a crutch for me. The next few months we have decided to try naturally, with faith in God that our prayers will be answered, and, although God likes to make us wait, He sure does know how to give incredible gifts!

4 thoughts on “God gives good gifts!

  1. Such a cute photo!! God is SO faithful, always!! Scripture says that none shall be barren. Believing and standing in faith with you that your miracle will come and waiting expectantly with you!!!

  2. Andrew and I are praying, praying, praying for you guys! This post so, so spot on… So often we do not understand God’s timing, but have to trust that His ways are perfect. And after 18 cycles, I know that gets harder and harder to do. You are such an encouragement. And if nothing else, God is using your story and your heart to bless my life during this season. But I am SURE He is doing so much more through you during this time too!

    Logan

Leave a Reply

