Eve- Mother of all Living

mothering

In this last year, I have found the most comfort and hope by reading stories about women who struggled with infertility in the Bible. I grew up attending Sunday School, so I knew about Sarah and Hannah and Elizabeth, but this last year those stories have come alive. I feel Hannah’s agony, sympathize with Rachel’s pain and mourn for Rebekah when I read about their barrenness and eventually God’s graciousness. Now I rejoice instead of glossing over the texts like before. I have a deeper interest in the stories that tell about these “miracle” babies’ lives, and they are all incredible! I have often found that through the times of deepest pain is when God really uses the characters in the Bible for his glory, and I know this is true even today. 

I have been going back and studying the lives of all of the Mothers in the Bible and wanted to start again with Eve and share what I have found to be so interesting! Genesis 3:20 “Adam named his wife Eve because she would become the mother of all the living.” Prior to this verse, Eve was referred to as “woman.” I find that very interesting that before she even had children, she was given the name Mother! The dictionary may define a Mother as ” a woman in relation to a child or children to whom she has given birth” (which makes my heart sink just reading that!) but I refuse to believe that is always the case, as many will attest that giving birth does not qualify a female the title of Mother. A Mother is so much more than just giving birth! A Mother shows a tenderness, is caring,is strong, loves sacrificially and is kind as well as so much more! I believe that I can posess these qualities without giving birth to a child.  My heart is filled with a sweet, unfufilled dream and hope of mothering, a thrill that is half pleasure and half pain, lately, more pain as I know I am missing something special, something that is a miracle and blessing, but I also will keep the faith that simply giving birth does not make the mother.

Anyway! Back to Eve! Another verse I found especially important was Genesis 4:1b when Eve says, “With the help of the Lord, I have brought fourth a man.” I underlined “with the help of the Lord.” The Bible makes it clear that he is the one who opens and closes the womb. Without his help, it is impossible to conceive or give birth. So no matter what medication I am on to assist in pregnancy, or what procedure or Doctor I visit, without the help of the Lord, my attempts will all be in vain and it will not succeed.

On a side note, I have always wondered why there were no children in the Garden of Eden? I love children, so my idea of heaven on earth is a garden full of children, not a garden filled with animals and plants and fruit! (One more question to add to my list when I get to heaven…)

One thought on “Eve- Mother of all Living

Leave a Reply

